ME conversations

#showtherealyou

I was motivated last night to get back into writing while watching the state of origin (Queensland WON).  I was on Instgram, I found a post from the mummysomniac.  She had been featured by @aliceinhealthyland for a Q and A #showtherealyou.  Long story short, I commented that I was motivated by her answers to get back into writing.  Well shit I thought, when she commented back that if I write something so will she.  SO here I am.  I thought I would borrow the questions from the Q and A she did and answer them myself.  Here we go. (I was going to change the questions slightly, because I wasn’t interviewed but decided to leave them).

 

I love your Instagram name!I think it is so clever! Can you tell me how you came up with it?

@medwardsblog, is an extension of my blog name.  ME blog. ME blog came about in November 2015.  I participated in 30 day blogging challenge, and LOVED it. I sat for ages trying to think of a cool, quirky, memorable name for the blog that I had no intention of telling anyone about. Every name I came up with sounded ridiculous and a bit tri-hardy.  My initials are ME, I thought that ME would be a good name because; they are my initials, the blog is about me, and it’s simple.

 

Can you tell myself and my followers a little about why you created @medwardsblog?

Well once I started writing in the 30 day blog challenge and was loving it so much, I wanted to share my writing. Instagram seemed a good place to promote my blog. After stalking around on there and finding thousands of people promoting everything from their boobs, to their business, their babies, I thought I could get some readers to my blog. I don’t only put up blog posts, I also post images or quotes that I find motivational, inspirational or funny. The quotes don’t always apply to how I am feeling at the time, but I figure that they may mean something to someone.

 

As a busy mumma what is your go to workout?

This is hilarious. I don’t have a go to workout. You can read all about my fitness struggles here and here and here and here.

HOWEVER, when I am motivated, feel unsettled or my body feels tight.  I do love to press play on the ipod and lose myself in a yoga session, or go for a walk.

 

How often do you find the time to move your body? 

Lately not much at all. Cooler weather, makes me want to hibernate like a mumma bear, mix that with night duty and moving is the last thing I want to do.  I do know that I need to kick my own butt and get moving, because moving is good for my mental health, and my body does cope with stress much better after a good power yoga session, or a brisk, sweaty walk.

 

Favourite activewear?

Mmmmm, I have been known to have a burnt toosh, from doing downward dog on the beach in bikini bottoms. I do have a pair of Lorna Jane shorts that are extremely comfortable. Otherwise it is shorts, tights, bikinis, yoga pants, for yoga and walking. But I mean always up for an active wear company to throw me some products to try out.

 wp-1464840333611.jpg

When you are having a rough day, what do you believe helps you to pull through?

Wine… No if I am having a rough day at home, I just need to be left alone. I need to be able to be sad, or cranky or depressed all on my own. I don’t want someone to fix me, don’t want to talk about whatever is bothering me until I am ready. If it’s a work, same, just let me work I don’t need to chat about my rough day.

For me early dinner, long, steaming hot shower where my skin just about peels off, and an early night is what helps to pull me through.

 wp-1464839855245.jpg

Favourite quote or mantra?

This one keeps popping up for me;

“What if I fall? Oh but my darling what if you fly?” I keep seeing this everywhere over the last few months.wp-1464840221846.jpg

And absolutely without a doubt one of my faves is: Your vibe attracts your tribe”

 

 

 

 

 

Proud mumma moment?

The tears and sobs were flowing last year at Jazz night at the high school my boy goes to. He decided he wanted to learn the clarinet. Now this boy is a sports kid head to toe. But he wanted to have a go and I encouraged him to go for lessons at the school. Jazz night is a showcase of all the children at the school who have been learning an instrument, and by learning I mean some of these kids play for the QLD youth orchestra.  BUT my boy wanted to have a go.  He was so nervous, I was so nervous, he got up on stage in front of the musical elite at the school and played his clarinet. He stopped a couple of times, he made that clarinet squeak like a parrot and he got a standing ovation.  He put his head down and almost ran off the stage, he hid out in the back room until the night was over, snuck out a back door and tried to get to the car before anyone could see him. My heart was so full for that brave boy, who got up and had the guts to have a go. That experience for my boy is one of the proudest moments I have experienced as a mumma.

 

Something you do for yourself?

My house is all boys, husband, kids, and dog. I mean we do have 5 chickens that I have an absolute love/hate relationship with. (I love their eggs, but hate the freaky bitches that peck my feet when I try and feed them). So sometimes I really need to get away from the testosterone, the endless competitiveness, the constant sport talk and do something girly just for me. Sometimes that is getting my hair done, or my nails, often it is a coffee with my mum or a friend.

  

wp-1464840102789.jpg
Enter a caption

 

Who inspires you?

I feel as though I should say my husband is the pinnacle of my inspiration or rant on about my awesome tribe, or how my kids are my inspiration, or how my mum or dad have inspired me to great heights. But in reality it is the people that have broken my heart just a little.  I don’t mean the people that have hurt my feelings and I think “oh you bitch”.  No, you know when someone says or does something that hurts your heart, even just for a second and leaves a blemish right there on your heart, and then the people that have hurt you so bad they don’t leave a blemish, they leave a scar. They are the ones that inspire me to be a good person, to be the best Mother, wife, daughter, sister, aunty, friend that I can be. To stick with my morals and beliefs, to not be a bitch. To not repeat the hurt that has been done to me.

Dream job?

To be paid to write. Like my blog description says: to write beautiful conversations, about stories, people and places I want to share.

There is so much beauty, pain, love, so many experiences and millions of stories in this world. I would love to be able to write just some of them and be able to earn my living from doing something that I am passionate about.

 Best advice you have been given?

Just keep finding you, keep doing things that help you find you. Love this I was told this in a tarot card reading.  It is another form of motivation for me. It makes me always want to find out what I may like, or be good at or find what I don’t like.  Kinda like a treasure hunt.

 Favourite beauty product?

Well at the moment it is the De Lorenzo Novo Silver shampoo. I decided a couple of weeks ago that blondes have more fun, went to the hairdresser and went a silvery, pearly, platinum blonde.  I am usually dark, dark brown.  The silver shampoo is my absolute favorite and necessary beauty product at the moment, so that I don’t look like a yellow headed, $2 hooker that needs her re-growth done.

wp-1464839812366.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “#showtherealyou

Leave a Reply

